What I may miss this weekend.

October 10, 2008

This weekend I have to go south to get my winter clothes, but also this weekend there are a few things to do in Columbus beer-wise.

I’m going to try to make my visit south very short to get to the beer tasting at Studio 35 which will be showing Better Off Dead (80’s movie with John Cusack) on Sunday, October 12th.  I’m not sure if I can make it but I sure as hell will try.

At Barley’s tomorrow for firkin friday, the downtown location will have the same thing that’s been sitting in the cask all summer, the Russian Imperial Stout.  It’s good stuff, but I’m still not certain that there is a difference between a firkin and a cask although Scott seems to think differently.

The Smokehouse will have the Centennial IPA which must have some appeal as they seem to put it in the firkin every other week.  It’s not a bad beer, but Centennial is not my hop of choice.  Where are all these rare hops that sprung up this year?  I want to try some new flavors.

Studio 35 had a tasting a month ago which featured somewhere in the realm of 14 beers and a showing of Anchorman with Will Farrell.  It was a mere $10 as is this one, and it started at 5PM but they seem open to late arrivals as I showed up an hour late.  It’s the best priced beer tasting deal that I’ve seen since I moved here.  I can’t say enough good things about this theater/brewpub.  It’s a great idea and if I had the cash, I would open the same thing along with a brewery stuck in the facility as well.

In the distant past they also had 24 hour horror movie marathons where I met the esteemed George Romero, director of Night of the Living Dead, Tom Savini, the best special effects man of all time, and Joe Bob Briggs, TNT/TBS MonsterVision lacky.

Hopefully they will continue with more cult movie support as I believe Columbus has a decent sized audience for that as well as craft beer.  Put them both together, and it’s nearly as good as chocolate and peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

