October movie season is in full effect. part 1

October 17, 2008

I did make it out to the Studio 35 beer tasting and good god, it was a good one.  Let me give you the rundown on the beer list.  My reviews have yet to hit the websites, but I will give a brief synopsis…

Number one on the lineup was New Holland’s Golden Cap Saison, which I did review in the bottle, but had yet to try on draft at the time:

Poured from the 22oz bottle into a standard beer mug. This was purchased at a retail store in Ohio so this is not just limited to the brewery.

Upon opening and the pour I nearly immediately spilled it all over the pants and keyboard area. This is usually a good sign. I usually accidentally spill the good beers out of sheer clumsiness wasting precious liquid from past instances.

Without further ado:

Appearance- Beer pours a slightly hazed golden yellow with a two and a half finger head of sodalike carbonation that quickly dies down to tiny bubbles raising up from the bottom of the glass.

Smell- Spices, a slight funk, lots of malt character, light fruits, and minor hop character. Some cardboard oxidation notes, I hope that isn’t in the flavor. Some citrus notes are there but the spices quickly overpower them.

Taste- Fruity and citrus with a creamy quality that gives way to more funk. I’m not sure if funk is entirely appropriate for the saisons, but I’m very glad that it is there. I love the funk. Hops are present but not too overpowering. Malt is adequately balanced.

Mouthfeel- Creamy, lightly warming, lightly fruity, highly carbonated, medium bodied.

Drinkability- Very nice for the summertime and very nice for the winter as well. The high ABV makes it a beer for all seasons. I would love to try this on tap and feel I may have the opportunity soon.

Serving type: bottle

Reviewed on: 08-02-2008 22:35:34

There was a beer mishap on this review, but it was a fine beer and was worth a try on tap.  Just for elaboration purposes, on tap was about 25% better, which makes it a grand slam of a beer.  If you find it on tap, I say get it.  You won’t regret it.

Now this is one hell of a starter for a tasting, but you won’t be seeing me complain on that one.  The fun had just begun and we weren’t even up to number 2.

Number 2 was Troegs Pale Ale, which was good, but it’s pretty hard to follow up that first one and it just didn’t do all that much for me.

number 3 was the oh so mediocre Troegenator Double Bock, which I would encourage others to try, but afterward, try Sam Adams version than tell me which one you like best.

Number 4: Founder’s Dry-Hopped Pale Ale which was pretty good!  Not that Founder’s is really a brewery that would disappoint, they aren’t but this was no Breakfast stout, and really, what is?  Founders excells with their dark beers, but still does a good job with the lighter ones.

Number 5:  Moylans Kilt Lifter.  This is probably my favorite American made Scotch ale, and it is different every time I have it on tap.  This time was no exception and it was especially flavorful this time around.

Did I mention this was a good tasting?  Ten bucks and already I had felt I’d gotten my money’s worth.  I would love to see the Studio 35 guy doing this more often.  It has to be good for his business as the theater has been packed both times I’ve come to these tastings.

Number 6:  Bell’s Hell Hath No Fury.  This was one of the strangest beers I have ever had and this year’s batch is totally different than the first batch they did.  That is to say, this is a completely different beer.  I would guess the only thing in common with the old one is maybe base malts.  It was one wacky monkey.  Roasted like a stout, sweet, no hop flavor, spices, it’s something, but who knows what kind of beer.. Maybe herbal/spiced?

Number 7:  Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale.  I suppose there had to be a pumpkin beer in the mix as it is the season.  I’m no longer that big on the pumpkin beers, but this one was quite good.

After this the tasting got really good.  I don’t know what wild hair got up Andrew’s ass, but he really pulled out the stops on this tasting and gave the tasters a real kick to the goods on this one..

8:  Avery The Kaiser.  Again i will offer up my bottle review on this one, but I assure you, the tap is much better.  This is the only imperial Oktoberfest to my knowledge, and it’s a damn good one.

Poured from a 22oz foil capped bottle into a tasting glass. Bottled in early 2007.

Appearance- Beer pours a golden amber with a decent and impressive head of foam. Dissipates to a thinner layer of foam on the top of the glass. Cleanly layered.

Smell- Big malts, mostly light with very mellow hops. Fellow commenter’s say they catch barnyard, but I say nay. Sweet light malts and very little hop. Yeast is present and mysterious.

Taste- Rich malty flavour with a rich hoppy background. Hops linger and nearly overpower but then the malt comes back reminding us that this is actually a Marzen. Warming and gingerbread on the finish.

Mouthfeel- Medium-full bodied with thick carbonation. No astringency. Creamy and enjoyable. Warming with the ABV of 9.37%, slightly sticky on the lips.

Drinkability- A nice Marzen. Time has balanced the beer slightly, but the beer could use much more time to come together. Adam could stand to make this beer a little lighter. As an Imperial Oktoberfest goes, Great job!

9, and this one really knocked my socks clean off.. This one was something I thought I would never see again, but I was oh so glad I did.  One of my favorite beers of all time, Flying Dog Wild Dog Barrel-Aged Gonzo Imperial Porter which I have reviewed from the bottle here:

Poured from 750ml bottle into a St. Bernardus Chalice.

Appearance- Solid black with a huge head of foam that reaches the 3 finger mark. Head is tan and splotchy, thick and undying. Clings to the glass and makes it’s artistic statement on the sides of the glass just like Steadman does on the bottles.

Smell- Malty and thick. I could paint my goth ex-girlfriends room with this stuff. Deep dark malts, chocolate and possibly some rye. The oak whiskey barrel is detracting from the malted smell and throwing me off. Caramels and rich dates and figs come in and the flying dog yeasty reminiscent that standard gonzo has (standard gonzo? That doesn’t quite sound right).

Taste- This is one hell of a beast right here. Smoother than gonzo porter, for some reason the barrel aging has made this beer more deceptive than it previously was. Malty sweetness gives way quickly to the whiskey oak flavor that I know all too well. Alcohol is warming but not felt on the tongue or nose. Smooth as all get-out, espresso on the finish makes me wish I had cracked it earlier in the night. I’ll be up all night with this one.

Mouthfeel- Thick and creamy, full-bodied and smooth. Alcohol warmth is big but unnoticable. Big carbonation on the appearance, but not too much on the mouth. Heavy like Elvis in the final days. It trys to cover it up, but everyone sees right thru that veil.

Drinkability- It does get hurt a little on drinkability due to the weight of this monster. 9.5% is nothing to scoff at. I will have it again on tap soon, but I won’t be drinking it all day much to my dissapointment.

and last but not least, the very nutritious, and delicious, and oh so good for you:

Southern Tier Oat (Imperial Oatmeal Stout) the bottled review is here as well.  Once again, the tap was better than the bottle:

Poured from 22oz bottle into a standard pint glass.

Appearance- Solid obsidian but when held to the light slight reddish hues escape around the top. A light brown 1.5 finger head appears but quickly dissipates to a splotchy peninsula of tiny bubbles thin over the top.

Smell- Oats, cream and fusel alcohol byproducts. Belgian chocolate malts and more creaminess. The alcoholic bit wafting in and out really docks the score on this bad boy. Hints of raisin and almond come out after repeated sniffs.

taste- black patent malt, lactose creamery with a rich oaty chocolate malty sweetness. A coffee huskiness permeates the palate, no real dark fruits on the tongue, but imperial Russian traits still persist. Damn Southern Tier knows the way to make their stouts. I would love to age one of these back longer. Hops are nicely balanced and not too over the top.

Mouthfeel- Rich and sticky. Smooth and creamy with low carbonation.

Drinkability- This stout, although huge with alcohol and oily, is still delicious and quite drinkable. I would love to find this on tap.

What a great tasting, all that, and Better Off Dead as well, which I had not seen before and I will have to obtain on DVD now.  Last Sunday night would have been hard to make it go any better, and the only thing to make it any better.. No work on Columbus Day the next day.  An event like this makes me love this city even more than I already do.

Leave a Reply

