Perhaps I spoke too soon.

October 24, 2008

Well, the movie marathon was excellent and I was sitting right next to the organizers.  Apparently my smuggling wasn’t overly frowned upon.  I suppose it all goes with the realm that if blatent drunkenness ensues, then they may have to care a little bit more about it.

That’s as far as I’m going into my lawbreaking issues as I plan to do it again in other places.  But this all just leads into the beer that I smuggled and had never sampled before.  Alesmith Yulesmith.  Now this beer has had a lot of words about it as there are two different versions.  I had the version with the red and green print indicating that this one is the winter edition.  It may also be good to note that this was the winter 2006 edition.  Without further ado, the review:

Beer gushes on opening causing quite a mess, but there was still plenty of beer leftover for reviewing.

Appearance- Beer pours a dark red brown with a one and a half finger head of tan/cream foam that dies slowly to a murk across the top. Lacing clings pretty solidly to the sides of the glass.

Smell- Cat piss and vaginal fluid mixed with grapefruits and pines along with thick bready malts. Some Candied gelatinous sour patch scents are in there as well. This is the first vagina scented beer I’ve ever had.

Taste- Sweet pines with a large load of earthy hops, a little sourness and a bit of yeastiness stinging on the tongue and lightly burning. I’m not sure if it was better younger, but this time it’s just pretty good.

Mouthfeel- Bitter, burning, sticky, full-bodied, and medium in carbonation.

Drinkability- This is a strong IPA that would cater to many, but I am really a fan of flavor and taste at the end of the day. It really doesn’t cut the mustard for me.

Serving type: bottle

Reviewed on: 10-24-2008 15:55:10

No real beer events to speak of this week, but I’ll mention Firkin Friday on the next post to fill those in who don’t leave the house for these sort of things.

Leave a Reply

