Finally! The sense of smell is back!

November 27, 2008

It took forever, but finally I am healthy enough to drink beer again.

It looks as if Barley’s downtown location will be closed tomorrow as there is no firkin, but for the Smokehouse, we do have the Oaked Christmas Ale available.  I will try to make it out there after work this Friday.  Perhaps I’ll get a growler.

I’ll have to keep this short and sweet as it is a Holiday and I’m needed downstairs, but I did visit an old IPA that I hadn’t had for quite some time that was hiding out in my cellar.  The large bottle version of Weyerbacher’s Double Simcoe IPA.  It hasn’t been hurt by the years being hidden back so I figure a review is in order.

Weyerbacher Double Simcoe IPA

Poured from the 22oz bottle into a standard pint glass. This may be the last large bottle ever since they switched (wisely) to the 4 pack bottles. Aged roughly one year, probably more.

Appearance- Beer pours a brown amber with nearly no clarity and a hefty two finger thick head of tan foam. Very hazy for an IPA but this beer looks great to me.

Smell- Time has not detracted from the power of the Simcoe hops present in this glass. A light citrus pine with a bit of musky funk for good measure. A bit of a vegetal grassiness but not a bad aroma by any means. No alcoholic but some yeasty esters.

Taste- A lightly buttery hoppy flavor, coughing fit. Went down the wrong pipe apparently. That won’t be held against the beer. Malt is evenly balanced and really fleshes out the beer. The alcohol isn’t warming and goes down smoothly. Hops are still lightly grassy and vegetal, but not bad.

Mouthfeel- Creamy, smooth, lightly bitter, medium bodied, and moderately highly carbonated.

Drinkability- For as alcoholic as the beer is, it goes down very smooth making it very drinkable and a wise decision from Weyerbacher to change it from these big bottles into four packs.

Now Weyerbacher is available from Premium beverage which would imply that I could find it here in Columbus.  Strangely enough, that’s not so much so.. The Imperial Pumpkin can be found here, but it seems like all other Weyerbacher’s are hard to come by.

I know it never came to the state but I would love to see their thirteenth anniversary beer.  Maybe I should just hope for a Riserva or the fourteenth anniversary.

Leave a Reply

